Canberra here we come.

if you’ve been looking at the upcoming events you’ll have seen a entry about our invitation 2009 Australian Bicycling Achievement Awards.

Here’s the details of the event. Thaknks goes out to whoever nominated us, and it’s a wonderful addition to the recognition we’ve had from you all this year. Take a bow all the supporters of Hobart Bike Kitchen.

On behalf of the Cycling Promotion Fund, I congratulate you on being nominated for the Special Achievement Award by a Bicycle Organisation in the 2009 Australian Bicycling Achievement Awards and officially invite you to attend the official presentation of the Awards at the Old Parliament House, Canberra on Wednesday 16th June 2010.

The Awards recognise success in getting more Australians physically active on two wheels and this year we are delighted to have received an extremely high calibre of nominations from all parts of the country. They recognise both the professionals and ordinary Australians who are creating a better, more bicycle friendly community.

The Cycling Promotion Fund is delighted that the Heart Foundation is the principal partner for this years Awards. The support from the Heart Foundation for the Awards comes at a time of increasing concern about rising obesity and falling levels of physical activity among our school children and Australian families. Tony Stubbs, Heart Foundation CEO – ACT will deliver the welcoming address.

The Hon Maxine McKew, Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government will be the key note speaker. Ms McKew’s portfolio responsibilities have a direct impact on cycling, active transport and the investment in healthy communities and her views will be eagerly sought by Award winners, industry and government stakeholders as we head to the next Federal election.

Stephen Hodge Vice President, Cycling Australia; Board Member, Amy Gillett Foundation; Olympian and six time Tour de France finisher will be the Master of Ceremonies and members of all political parties will join us to recognise the great contributions made by individuals and organisations.

Further information, including details of award categories and past winners, is available from the Australian Bicycling Achievement Awards website:

Award Categories

* Cycling Promotion Award of the Year: Professional & Honorary categories
* Special Achievement Award by a Bicycle Organisation
* Local Government Award for Initiative to Encourage and Promote Cycling
* Award for Educational Institution for Innovation in Encouraging Cycling to School
* Award for Bicycle Friendly Business
* Award for Contribution towards Cycling by a Politician
* Award for Contribution towards Cycling by a Bicycle Retailer.

Published by


Programmer, Integrator, Scrum Leader, Enthusiast, Cyclist, Tas Leaders Program

One thought on “Canberra here we come.”

  1. Congratulations on the nomination guys. It’s just a shame we’re in the same category this year. You look like strong competition and a sure thing from the few nominees Ive heard of so far.
    Good luck!

    Dave Sharp, Brisbane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s